Material Handling Education Foundation

CICMHE Announced 2016/2017 Design Competition Award Winners

The College Industry Council on Material Handling Education (CICMHE) recently announce the winners of their 2016/2017 Design Competition, and we thought you’d like to know.

For the competition, teams had to design a solution to a material handling problem, which were then evaluated by seven independent judges from industry and academia.

First place was awarded to a team from Montana State University, consisting of team members Andreas Arvidsson, Quinn Hanson, Dominik Schmelter, and Drew Shanafelt, led by advisor Durward Sobek. A cash prize of $2,000 will be split amongst the team and $500 will go to the department.

The second place prize went to Rochester Institute of Technology’s team, made up of team members Marissa McCarthy, Alec J. Greenspan, and Benjamin Bruns, and Robert Mejia, advised by Anthony DiVasta. Second place in the competition is awarded $1,500 to be split among the team members with $500 for the department.

A team from University of Missouri took third place, with team members Keith Schonhoff, Rohith Madhi Reddy, Roderick Timmons, and Austin Laramie, guided by advisor Mohamed Awwad. The third place prize is $1,000 to be split among the team members plus $500 for the department. Congratulations to the winners!

The 2017/2018 design competition case overview and judging criteria files are now available at