Material Handling Education Awards Available

By Alex Batty, MHI Marketing Communications Coordinator |@mhi_alex

The Material Handling Education Foundation, Inc. (MHEFI) funds scholarships every year for material handling education. As a independent, non-profit organization, MHEFI is dedicated to encouraging and supporting material handling education by providing funds or through private and corporate donations. The Foundation supports both graduate and undergraduate students as well as academics and the institutions they work in.

This year, MHEFI has recently announced a call for nominations for three awards made to an individual, corporation or organization that has contributed to the industry in an extraordinary way or to an extraordinary degree. They are the :

  • • Norman L. Cahners Industry Award
  • Reed-Apple Education Award
  • MHEFI Exceptional Contribution Award

Award Criteria

The Norman L. Cahners Industry Award is a lifetime achievement award honoring applicants that have demonstrated a long-time commitment to the material handling industry and actively participate within the community. The award was established in 1990 as a tribute to the memory of Norman L. Cahners, a pioneer in publishing and unit-load research.

The Reed-Apple Award is presented to nominees that have demonstrated consistent and substantial support for material handling and logistics education. Nominations are solicited from MHI member companies, the College-Industry Council for Material Handling Education, educators, association members, and the material handling/logistics user community. The Reed-Apple is a lifetime achievement award that was established in 1981 in memory of Drs. Ruddell Reed, Jr. and James M. Apple, renowned material handling educators and innovators.

The MHEFI Exceptional Contribution Award is a first-time award focused on applicants demonstrating contributions from short term events, programs and contributions, or extended influence and/or contributions in more narrowly focused industry activities.

Award Application and Deadline

The deadline to submit a nomination or application is December 31, 2016. Application and supporting materials should be sent to Donna Varner, MHEFI, 8720 Red Oak Blvd., Suite 201, Charlotte, NC  28217. Find an application for each award at

For more information about MHEFI and the work they do, visit